The 2019 edition of Race to the Sun welcomed 2000 riders to the start line at Hartbeespoort, Die Oewer. The cold autumn breeze swept throughout the field and prepared the riders for the long road ahead to Sun City. The 167-kilometre journey boasts with scenic routes through towns like Brits, Roodekopjes, Bojateng and Pilansberg.


Pro riders like Nico Bell, Gawie Combrink, Joanna van de Winkel, Vanessa Bell and many more could be spotted through the crowds of riders, all chasing the acclaimed title for Race to the Sun 2019.


The vibes at the spectator points were electric, with everyone cheering their loved ones along and motivating them to finish strong. Each spectator point was equipped with delicious coffee, pancakes and snacks to keep the fans entertained throughout the day.


Gawie Combrinck made a breakaway at about 60km and kept the lead strong throughout the race, to ultimately take the win with a time of 04:50:15. Nico Bell and Pieter du Toit chased the leader at one point, but Gawie made sure he remained in the lead. Bell and du Toit sprinted towards the finish and kept the spectators on their toes, where Pieter du Toit claimed second place. Joanna van de Winkel was the first lady to cross the line and took the title of Race to the Sun Elite Women. Defending champion Vanessa Bell had a mechanical at 48km and was forced to withdraw.


“The conditions were more favourable this year and we could see the elites pacing the field throughout the race. The weather conditions were perfect for riders to endure such a distance and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day out on the bike. We look forward to hosting more of these events across the country” Leon Odendaal, Race Director


Race to the Sun Elite Men

  1. Gawie Combrinck  Р04:50:15
  2. Pieter du Toit – 04:51:01
  3. Nico Bell – 04:51:0

Race to the Sun Elite Women

  1. Joanna van de Winkel -05:31:10
  2. Fiddy van Pittius – 05:35:06
  3. Marisa van der Linde – 05:40:40


Share This